1975 55 HP Chrysler outboard won't go forward.

i have to admit i'm new to boating and inexperienced when it comes to engine repairs. i bought a boat recently and was under the impression that all it needed was a new impeller and it would work fine, there were a couple of other problems that i fixed and im actually enjoying the project but this recent one has me stumped. i took the boat out on the water and started it up, the boat runs great and starts every time the boat will reverse properly and switches gears properly but when i go to put it in forward it will only go at a very low speed if at all. if i give it more gas it will either slip the gear or sputter and die. it may be unrelated but i have also noticed it runs slightly better with the top cover off, some things i read say that could be an exhaust leak but i figure it might be pertinent. my strategy right now is to check the shift rod and cables to make sure it is shifting properly into forward but i wanted to see if somone else had any ideas.

bvsteamer

Cadet
Re: 1975 55 HP Chrysler outboard won't go forward.

If you replaced the impeller,did you mark the nut that joins the two shift rods together? It sounds like you might have the shift rod misadjusted, which is common when replacing an impeller. The shift adjustment has to be pretty precise. Not a difficult adjustment, just a bit time consuming. Happened to me after replacing my impeller the first time on my 1969 55hp. Lots of posts on how to do it here on this forum.

Yeah I know I was having problems with that, i am in the process of readjusting it but I don't know if that is the only problem. What really confuses me is the fact that it dies when I give it throttle, it doesn't seem like that could be related to a shift rod adjustment.

jmulz824

Seaman