Force 120 slow cranking starter

mikemo1964

Cadet
Hello all. I just purchased a 1995 Maxum 1700 with a 1996 Force 120 outboard. I'm new to power boating so please forgive my ignorance. When I took my sea trial I noticed that when he started the motor it turned over very slowly, but seemed to start easily. It cranked like a car that had a nearly dead battery (wooh...wooh...wooh). I wasn't sure if that was just normal.

We took the boat out for the first time last Friday. We got it in the water and the motor started (the same slow cranking as before). We ran it for an hour on the lake and then headed back to the ramp. I wanted to test a hot-start, so I left it in the water for 5 minutes then tried to start it. It clicked but wouldn't spin. The boat has dual-batteries so I switched to the second. Same thing. When I switched to both I was able to start it, but it cranked very slowly.

I pulled both batteries, charged them then took them to the auto parts place to be tested. They both tested good with over 500CCA. I put them back in the boat and started it but had the same slow cranking symptom. When I replaced the batteries I cleaned the connectors and the battery terminals and put some dielectric grease on them.

The engine has about 250 hours on it. The PO had a receipt from a water pump and bottom end reseal from last year. The compression was tested at 135psi in each cylinder. The engine seemed to run perfectly while we had it on the water. WOT had the motor at about 5200rpm and 40mph indicated. It cruised at 30mph and around 4200rpm. (we had fun on our first outing, btw)

Is this just simply a bad starter? Any other tests I can run to isolate the issue?
Thanks!
Mike M.

JSMoore

Petty Officer 2nd Class
Re: Force 120 slow cranking starter

Look for a bad ground, bad connection, or possibly a cable that's got "black wire corrosion" running up inside it. If you're not getting all those CCAs to the starter, it ain't going to crank over very well. Just a thought.