Force 90 HP bogging down.

hamtoy1

Cadet
Hi,
I have a 1962 Delmar Glasspar Cuddy Cabin Cruiser with a Force 90 HP motor 1979.
I am having issues with it bogging down.
It will idle and run like new for about an hour then starts to bog down, missfire and then die.
I have had a mechanic look at it for over two years now. BTY I am not a mechanic.
I have had the fuel pump rebuilt. New water pump. Rebuilt carbs and fuel lines.
New gas tank etc etc but with no joy.
I was told that the only thing left was to replace the electricals. Like the CD module, coil, distributor etc.
Would this REALLy help or might it be something else?
I am getting very frustrated with all this. All I want to do is run the boat on the water but it won't.:(

hamtoy1

Cadet
Re: Force 90 HP bogging down.

Well I finally tracked down what issue was.
A cracked rotor.
Bought one from Laing's Outboards.
All in need to do now is to get it installed.
I hope this was the only issue.
Now if only the weather would co operate so i could get a decent run on a lake with her to try her out.

roscoe

Supreme Mariner

Hi, welcome to iboats, and welcome back.

I can't believe you didn't get a reply back in August, sorry.

Hopefully the rotor will fix it.

If not, look at things that would be effected by heat. The longer you run the motor, the hotter things get.

I would look to the coil(s). They can definitely start to fail when they get hot.

hamtoy1

Cadet

:(:confused:
Hi, welcome to iboats, and welcome back.

I can't believe you didn't get a reply back in August, sorry.

Hopefully the rotor will fix it.

If not, look at things that would be effected by heat. The longer you run the motor, the hotter things get.

I would look to the coil(s). They can definitely start to fail when they get hot.