91' Force 120hp i/o - starter won't engage..

Open Waters

Seaman Apprentice
Hello all. I'm new to boating and iboats. I've found a lot of useful tips over the past week of two.

My issue: I've recently purchased (month and half ago) a 91' Bayliner 2070 Bowrider w/ a Force 120hp LD i/o. I managed to work myself through setting the idle, fuel mix (rich, normal, lean), etc.. with the help of this site. Apparently, starting/idling problems are common for those who own force motors.

I've noticed that the past few times out it has got more and more difficult to start the engine. It got to the point (last time out) where I got nothing from the engine when I turned the key other than a click.

The next day, after being towed to the dock in the dark, I replaced the battery and changed the fuel filter. I took the boat back to the water to test and nothing, just the "click". After removing the back board and viewing the engine while cranking, I see that the "click" is the solenoid being engaged by the "solenoid plug" I believe.

Would this be a bad solenoid or bad starter? Please help! Any advise would be greatly appreciated...

If someone has a picture of this motor's solenoid, please post. Just trying to make sure that what I'm looking at is what I'm looking at.

Open Water

roscoe

Supreme Mariner
Re: 91' Force 120hp i/o - starter won't engage..

starter solenoid.jpg

Bridge the gap between the battery terminal and the starter terminal using a jumper cable or similar.

If the starter doesn't engage, its the starter.

If the starter works, it is the solenoid.

If you are hearing a click, I suspect the solenoid is working.

Jiggz

Captain