125 hp mercury force 1989 - trim resevoir

mbray

Cadet
Hello, I just finished rebuilding the valve on my unit and it is operating great now. But I am weeping out fluid very slowly between the resevoir and the valve. It appears that the res is slightly mis-shaped at the bottom. I can still use the unit but hate the trail of oil in the water:facepalm:. I am a machinist and am currently working on a few ideas for repairing i, but unsuccessful so far. If anyone could tell me where I can find JUST the resevoir I would really appreciate it. Otherwise any tips and tricks for taking the very slight bow out of the aluminum without cracking it. And il keep trying in the mean time. Thanks

jerryjerry05

Supreme Mariner
Re: 125 hp mercury force 1989 - trim resevoir

I think?? The reservoir is plastic.Look on e-bay for used ones.Most come with motors and AIN"T cheap.
Take it apart,clean it with a good solvent.Then use a good silicone and try to seal it.Let it cure before you add fluid.
RRITT on this site sells and works on these.Maybe he has an answer.J

RRitt

Captain

they are not repairable. You should buy a new motor. If you buy a used reservoir then you have a 50/50 chance that it is any good (at best) .

silicone is bad. if you're going to use something, use something that won't break off and become chunks of debris floating around in the fluid.

there is a work around that might buy you some extra time. Go to a hydraulics shop and ask for an ASA 041 four lobe oring. some places call them quad rings. Get Buna70 or lower. you will have to take pump assy off boat and work carefully to fit this gasket onto your pump without stripping the motor to valve body threads.

WaveJumpingMaxum

Petty Officer 3rd Class