1995 Force 120 HP Outboard Powerhead Removal

95Maxum

Cadet
Hello All,

I believe this is my first post on this forum, but I really need someone to help me out. I am still a beginner when it comes to boat ownership, however, I know a little jargon; but please keep it light (or at least be patient, if I ask for a definition). Also, please be gentle as I am inevitably going to ask a dumb question eventually, if not in this post :)

I have a Maxum 1800XR with a 1995 120 Force Outboard. I have had issues with this boat from day one, in fact, I'll bet I have spent more time out in the driveway working on it or being towed in on it more than I have actually had it on the water. But I digress, I will spare you all the details not pertaining to my question; unless you think it would help to answer the question, if this is the case please feel free to ask.

After battling several issues with this boat (some electrical but mainly starting and running) The last time I had it out, when I tried to start the boat it wouldn't turn the flywheel (unless you count spinning it in 1/4 turn increments) it sounded like a gallop, but wouldn't start. I took it in to my boat mechanic and after looking it over and giving a compression test, he said that one of the cylinders were scored, thus locking up the piston. He advised me not to fix it, but to sell it for whatever I could get out of it with a scored cylinder wall, and buy another boat.

However, I used to work in a machine shop a few years back and know the owner of it quite well. So, I decided to take the power-head off and take it to the machine shop, do the work myself and pay the owner or the use of his equipment. So, I bought a manual for the motor (ordered from this site, if I am not mistaken) and went to work taking off the powerhead.