Is my mechanic correct or am i? Repairs to 1991 150 hp Mercury Force!!!!

heckmonkey

Cadet
Hey Everyone,

NOT SO QUICK OF A QUESTION and sorry but I figure it would be better to provide as much info as necessary to get an accurate answer.

I am new to the boat world. I have a 1991 Mercury Force 150 on a old 91 cobra bass boat (bairly used, still in good shape other than seats) The motor has very low hours and I am supprised by how decent shape this boat is in for its age.

On to my Outboard. My mechanic said the motor has good compression in all cylinders but one, he said it would not be worth the money to pull the top end and repair. Sorry wish I had the results of the compression test to share. He did do a scope inspection of cylinders as well, and said they all look amazing, they show little to no scaring, wear, or carbon deposits, within any of the cylinders.

Mechanic said these are the needs or repairs of the motor he recomends:

Carb rebuild cost with parts etc., $300

Seals need replacement, $300 includes seals, lower end water pump, and lower end fluid.

Prop (chuncked up by me, but it did not cause any lower end damage per mechanic) Roughly $100 - $200 as seen on IBOATS.

Trim Tilt Relay Motor goes up, but will not lower???? Cost I think roughly 12 - 20 bucks after shipping.