50 Hp force no spark

Status
Not open for further replies.

fisharrow

Cadet
Hey all, I am a newbie as you can see. I am going through the force owner frustration syndrome. I have been lurking for a while, I must compliment you folks on your expertise. O.K. Enough shmoozing. Here is the situation: '89 force mod. 507Y9B. Have owned her for 2 years, never a problem until last trip out. The motor ran great as usual. At the end of the day I putted back to the launch through a no wake zone for about 15 min. Shut the motor off to get truck/trailer. Went to load boat - no start!! I replaced Spark plugs (ngk buhw-2). Nothing. I am getting fuel (50:1). Spent the last two days checking wire connections throughout the setup. All are in good order, clean and tight. Kill switch, stop wires...I am sure that it is a fire problem. When I did the stop wire test with a volt meter CD wire to terminal I had 1.7 -2.1 volts when bumping the starter. Sorry for being so long, just wanted to get as much info out as possible.
Thanks in advance for any help, shore bound in Wa.

jerryjerry05

Supreme Mariner
Re: 50 Hp force no spark

Do a spark test.Then a comp test.Is the flywheel magnet still glued in?It's possible the flywheel key might have sheared.J

fisharrow

Cadet

JJ05,
I did check for spark on both plug wires using a timing light - nothing. The magnet is in place. All components under the cowl look very clean and in good shape. This boat came to me from my father in law who bought it new, so it's past life is not in question. He always took it to a dealer for service. I don't have the proper meter to check the stator.
Could it be the ignition switch?? Any way to test without just replacing?

Thanks Fisharrow

pipestone guy

Seaman Apprentice