'68 Chrysler lower unit gasket

rbtroutguy

Recruit
I took apart the lower unit of my '68 Chrysler 45hp outboard to reset the shift pivot screw and check the bearings. While removing the lower unit, I destroyed the lower unit black gasket. Are these available anywhere, or can I use silicone caulk to make my own gasket. Also, does this gasket separate oil from water at any point, or would I be able to just seal the outside? This is my first attempt at this, so any advice is appreciated. Thanks! rbtroutguy

noah4009

Petty Officer 1st Class
Re: '68 Chrysler lower unit gasket

I took apart the lower unit of my '68 Chrysler 45hp outboard to reset the shift pivot screw and check the bearings. While removing the lower unit, I destroyed the lower unit black gasket. Are these available anywhere, or can I use silicone caulk to make my own gasket. Also, does this gasket separate oil from water at any point, or would I be able to just seal the outside? This is my first attempt at this, so any advice is appreciated. Thanks! rbtroutguy

Hi
You can find and get any parts you might need from Franz at www.franzmarine.com or email him directly at franzmarine@aol.com
Hector

Frank Acampora

Supreme Mariner

Do not attempt to seal around the outside. That gasket not only seals the gearcase torpedo against water intrusion but locates the Bearing and pinion.

Best to use a new stock one BUT---I have cut one from a white plastic container like potato salad etc. Trick is: It needs to be thin like the original. Do not use fiber Gasket paper.

You would be surprised at the force of the water against the lower unit while at speed. This gasket must resist it. That's the reason I used plastic: I could tighten the bolts way down for a good seal.

rbtroutguy

Recruit