'76 chrysler 75hp not starting

JP_TX

Cadet
I have a 75hp with good compression in all three cyl. Problem I am having is no spark to the plugs. Last I found any elec current was when I got to the power pack/cylinoid, that is the motor with the blue wire and white/black to alternator, thinking it is the breakerless electronic ignition from what I can tell from my Clymer book but I am new to this. From what I can tell and without the special tools the Clymer book suggests, I am not sure where to find out the lack of spark to the plugs. i am thinking it is the power pack or cylinoid but not sure and the only replacement I found was a combination that looks nothing like what I currently have on the motor. Can anyone help with a short cut to tell what the lack of spark to plugs is and if this is correct FORCE POWER PACK KIT, REPLACES MOTOROLA 6CB2012A & B (523301 & 523301-1) MOTOROLA 6CB2003 (404301), 300F817855A1. INCLUDES COIL MOUNTED ON PLATE. (NO TACH CIRCUIT), I have a 6cb2012a power pack currently. Sorry for the bombardment of questions, but from reading the rest of the forums looks like you guys are always up for a challenge. This is an awsome site by the way.

Frank Acampora

Supreme Mariner
Re: '76 chrysler 75hp not starting

Before you go buying expensive ignition parts, let's do some basic checks!

It would make it easier if I knew if this is an engine that you just bought so you don't have a history on it or if this is a problem that recently developed.

But, I will describe your system and tell you where to check.

First, check the plugs and wires. The plugs tend to foul and at that point they short out and will not spark. The wire terminal inside the boot is a steel wire spiral and tends to rust, breaking off and inhibiting spark.