1987 125 Force shifting issue

pberry

Recruit
I just bought a Bayliner Capri with a Force 125. The previous owner stated that I should replace the impeller before running the motor. I pulled the unit using the forum advice I found here, and discovered that the impeller was fine, but the seal had pushed out of the top of the housing. The housing itself is pretty corroded so I will be replacing the entire pump assy. anyway. Poking around and looking at things with the l/u off, I discovered that I cannot move the shift rod up or down. While it was all together, I did move the shift lever both forward and back, but it would only go about halfway backward. Pardon me for being a complete newbie at boats, but I do have extensive mechanical background with cars and motorcycles, just no experience with outboards. Any input would be appreciated.

Scaaty

Vice Admiral
Re: 1987 125 Force shifting issue

You need to turn the prop while shifting (or motor running)..or the clutch gear dogs just hit each other, and not mesh.
It will be difficult by hand with the leg off, and not all the needed leverage provided with the shifter and related.
And DO NOT take out that side gearcase Phillips head screw..NEVER!

Frank Acampora

Supreme Mariner
Re: 1987 125 Force shifting issue

If the pump housing was that badly corroded, you also need to check the walls of the lower plate. That's the plate held on by an additional three screws--one in the front and two in the back. There is a center wall in this plate below the stainless plate and gasket. If this wall is corroded enough that it does not seal against the gasket, it will short circuit water from the outlet side to the inlet side of the pump. This can reduce efficiency enough that the engine may overheat even with a new impeller.

This torpedo shaped plate also carries the drive shaft seal and the shift rod seal.