Please help Force 85hp outboard loss of power

chrisbates202

Recruit
Anyways here goes , i was out on my boat today and i was on it for a good two hours at clipping along at a good 45 miles per hour all day enjoying the sunshine and such. Well here is my dilema there was a long long line to get the boat out for some reason i just my boat idle (2 stroke) hmmm good idea or bad we idled in th water for at least 20 mins then the boat stalled and i had a hard time getting it going again when i did it had like no power it would just creep through the water so i took back out deeper away from the docks pulled the enigne cover replaced the sparkys and figured i would be back in business. no deal the boat is power less and still is that finally got back to shore got the boat out the water but i am very confused if anyone out there can help please advise me im new to boating havent had this boat out many times

stats are

89 maxum 17 footer
85 hp force outboard

Thank you in advance for anyone willing to help

JDP

Petty Officer 3rd Class
Re: Please help Force 85hp outboard loss of power

My first suggestion would be to verify that you have spark on all cylinders. Also check your fuel system out. Did you happen to check the primer bulb to see if it was firm. Does pumping the bulb help with the power situation at all? Those are just some suggestions off the top of my head.

roadrunnr

Petty Officer 3rd Class

Chris, most troubleshooting begins with a compression test on all cylinders. Forty five miles per hour, HOLY COW, I've got the same boat and engine and can only achieve 36 mph!! What pitch prop are you running? Mine's a 15. I'd be one happy camper if I could get that speed out of mine!!

chrisbates202

Recruit

you know i have no idea i just bought the boat and the guy i bought it from said it did 52 mph i know its no special prop its not stainless turbo prop or anything like that. looks to be a stock prop.

roadrunnr

Petty Officer 3rd Class