Chrysler 50 HP early 60's?

reelfishin

Captain
I looked at a boat today that has what I believe is an early to mid 60's 50HP Chrysler motor. The number plate is badly defaced, and I am not able to make out any of the numbers. It has the semi rounded style fiberglass cover with the aluminum trim panle in front. It's a twin cylinder with a single carb.
The seller test ran the motor in a tank to show me it ran, it was running on a 6 gallon portable tank since the tank in the boat is rusty, the motor ran great and sounded fine, but I noticed that the fuel pump and filter have been bypassed and it was running with the tank ran directly to the carb. They have the tank hard plumbed to the carb, no pump, no filter, only a primer bulb. What amazed me is that it ran and kept it's prime for at least a half hour.
My questions are, were these magneto engines? Ignition Points or other?
I have no experience with Chrysler at all, these are new to me. It ran too good to replace and the boat is priced right and super clean.
I just can't figure why or how it runs without the pump. The owner said it's been hooked up that way for years. The pump is intact and seems to be all there, it's my guess that the rusty built in tank kept clogging the filter so they did away with the tank and old lines, and ran a new one not knowing any better and it ran so they left it. I just can fathom how it's able to keep drawing fuel from the tank, especially under load. I did run it in gear a bit and it seemed ok, but it was running in a barrel of water and I was afraid to push it too hard that way.
If I buy this boat I would be looking at putting it all back to factory, providing I can find everything to do so.
Does anyone have any pics to help ID this motor? I didn't have my camera when I looked at the boat, but if I get it I will post pics.
I just wanted to make sure that these weren't some odd, undesirable motor.
It seems pretty well built from what I can tell so far?

eurolarva

Rear Admiral