35 HP CHRYSLER OUTBOARD STARTING -RUNNING PROBLEMS

blugunnman

Cadet
i JUST GOT THIS MOTOR FOR FREE IT HAS A KEY START, WITH MANUAL TILT, IM NEW TO THE BOATING WORLD AND NOT SURE WHAT YEAR IT IS THE SERIAL NUMBER IS 1013 AND MODEL NUMBER IS 354HB . tHE PROBLEM IS, IS THAT WHEN I START THE MOTOR I SEE A LITTLE SMOKE COMING FROM UNDER THE FLYWHEEL, WHEN IT DOES START IT SEEMS TO RUN GOOD BUT THE REAL PROBLEM IS WHEN I TURN IT OFF THE MOTOR DOESNT STOP WHEN I TURN KEY OFF, I HOPE ITS A SIMPLE WIRING PROBLEM CAN ANYONE HELP????

eurolarva

Rear Admiral
Re: 35 HP CHRYSLER OUTBOARD STARTING -RUNNING PROBLEMS

Motor is from 1970. I will get back to you later on the wiring. Could be the ignition switch is bad or some wire on the terminal block is didconnected. For now to kill the motor you can use the choke to kill it. This is done by pushing the key in. You should here a loud click and the choke butterflie should close.

eurolarva

Rear Admiral