Force 85hp 1986 power loss

jrem123

Cadet
Hey to all: Newbie here.<br /><br />Searched though the archives and found some good general info, but I haven't pinpointed down my specific issue so I figured I would post.<br /><br />I have a 1986 Bayliner with a Force 85hp. Very clean condition, never a problem (other than a fowling issue when pulling tubers under low rpm).<br /><br />The other day I was pulling a skiier, and the power band just dropped off a cliff, like it started starving for gas. It starts fine, sounds like it's hitting on all three cyliders, but when I hit the gas there is no power, it ramps up too about half speed after a while but it certainly isn't right.<br /><br />Manually flipping the throttle (with the cowling off) and it coughs, spits, and dies.<br /><br />I've been thinking it's an ignition problem, potentially timing advance, but searching the archives leads me to checking the CD's or carbs.<br /><br />Any hints/tips to leading me down the right path would be appreciated.

boatsmitty

Cadet
Re: Force 85hp 1986 power loss

Check your fuel line(filter) for blockage. If ok, check the fuel pump screen for blockage and diaphragm for holes or stiffness. Check your ignition system by using a spark tester on the spark plug wires. Check for spark on all three. If a cylinder is not firing, you can swap spark plug wires and primary wires to check each coil on a different cylinder and verify the problem is with the coil.

bnk999

Petty Officer 2nd Class

Wouldn't hurt to pull plugs also and compare- If one looks different than the other two then you may have a problem with weak/intermittent spark or a carb issue for that cylinder

jrem123

Cadet