chrysler 45 steering probs

nedkell

Cadet
hi all<br />i have a 45 hp chrysler i am new to boating and need some advice <br />the steering is really stiff i have checked the cables by disconecting them and they seem to move fine when disconected can anyone help

eurolarva

Rear Admiral
Re: chrysler 45 steering probs

When you disconnect the pin from the motor to the steering will the motor turn freely?

nedkell

Cadet

thanks for reply <br />no the motor does not turn freely when steering disconected

bnk999

Petty Officer 2nd Class

Look at your motor where the swivel mechanism is- should have grease fittings somewhere you need to grease em with a grease gun until grease come out

eurolarva

Rear Admiral

If fresh greese wont get in there you may want to try kerosene. The old greese in there may be hard or lack of greese has caused it to seize up. If you can get kerosene in there to loosen it up work all the old greese out and then add fresh. I doubt you are going to find a replacement part for where it swivels. If the greese zerk is good try penetrating oil like WD 40 or pb blaster and work it in there real good. With the steering cable disconnected the motor should swivel by the tip of a finger and move real easy.

nedkell

Cadet

have just done sa sugested i found grease point did not seem to take much before grease started coming out. Dont know what kerosene is or where to get it would it be similar to parafin<br />have sprayed in loads of wd 40 to every joint<br />very little diference<br />to move motor with steering disconected it takes both arms full strength is there a way to take apart .

Docdoc

Petty Officer 2nd Class

Try removing the grease fitting and spraying as much wd40 directly into the opening as possible. Also spray liberally at the top part of the swivel and allow it to soak downward while moving the motor back and forth. Sounds like you have a really bad corrosion problem.

eurolarva

Rear Admiral