15HP Force outboard...What year is it???

Trailbum

Seaman
Hi Guys,<br />I'm a car guy who is brand new to this boating thing. I just picked up a second hand Force 15HP outboard to use several weeks each Summer on a fresh water lake.<br /><br /> I have many questions, first is can someone tell me what year the motor is?? The data plate says "US Marine Power" "Model # 152Y9A, serial# 1131"<br /> Can someone recommend a good parts source??<br /> It has a 2-blade prop, should I replace it with a 3-blade?? If so, where would I obtain one??<br /> I would also be interested in picking up a service manual for the beast. Any suggestions??<br /> Is the Force 15HP a decent motor, or did I just make a big mistake????<br /> As I said, I'm completely new at this, but very handy with cars. I'll try anything if I have a decent service manual, I MAY even try anything without a service manual, but I can't guarantee the results.....OK, I'll stop now...<br /> Thanks in advance for your wisdom and advice.<br /> Bill

12Footer

Fleet Admiral
Re: 15HP Force outboard...What year is it???

That's the sprit,trailbum
smile.gif
<br />Your moter is a 1989 first-run (the "A").<br />Parts can usually be found locally at Bayliner,Mercury,Proline type shops.<br />The shop manual you'll need is <br />"Clymer FORCE Ouboard Shop Manual", published by Intertec, Pub#B751-3.<br /><br /><br />------------------<br />Time to change my tagline

Trailbum

Seaman