1975 Chrysler 35 hp 357he

Sparks Jr

Cadet
I just bought this boat real cheap cleaned all the points good got it to spark finally replaced the fuel hose and cleaned carb starter is bad so I have been pulling on this thing and it wants to run but won't and will backfire everyone once in awhile any suggestions as I am new to these motors thanks

Chryslerman123

Petty Officer 3rd Class
Check the primer bulb to be sure it is working properly.
Check the fuel pump screen for blockages.

Check for correct point gap setting.

Check idle adjustment screw setting.

New spark plugs won't hurt either if you didn't replace them already.

Sparks Jr

Cadet
Primer ball is firm screen is clean point gap is at .020 not sure on idle screw or which one that is new to outboard motors and yes next on list is new plugs

jerryjerry05

Supreme Mariner
Plugs wires on wrong?
Too much fuel in the cylinders?

​Try a shot of starting fluid.
​Not a lot, just a quick burst.
Too much can cause problems.

​Clean the starter, way easier to start when it can continue to turn over instead of 2-3 turns with the cord.

Sparks Jr

Cadet
Starter needs rebuilt haven't wanted to put a lot of money into it until I know it runs and I have it a shot of carb cleaner and it seemed to try to run more then not sure what to do next plug wires are on right changed could to

jerryjerry05

Supreme Mariner
If the compression is good? and the lower isn't full of water??
​Then you can make it run.

​Doing a comp test with the pull cord is a bit harder to do but can be done.

The results probably won't be as high as if the starter worked.
​But if both are close?? then continue.

Sparks Jr

Cadet
Both have good compression 110psi is what I got on my guage which isn't the best have good spark I think I need new points but cannot find them can any one give me a part number or an idea of where I could order them

kbh121956

Chief Petty Officer