Force 50hp 1 carb approx 1992 - won't idle

Tuni

Seaman Apprentice
My Force 50hp 1 carb fires up with the choke handle up, revs high, and can run all day. I can't lower the choke handle to engage the throttle...it dies. I cleaned carb twice with carb cleaner and adjusted carb float (horz with carb body), I also replaced needle valve. The primer valve doesn't 'click' when ignition key is pushed in, but motor still starts right up with choke handle up and throttle in neutral. Both cylinders are at 125psi. Mixture screw is at 1-1/4. What can I try next to get this thing to idle without taking it to a shop? I'm not a mechanic and enjoy working on puzzles....I think I'm missing something on this one. Thanks.

jerryjerry05

Supreme Mariner
If at all possible, try to include serial #s or model #s.
​They made 14 different models and a lot of changes.

Your primer.
​It has a rubber diaphragm like your fuel pump and it can go bad.
After it starts, pinch off the lead from the primer to the carb.

The primer no click, get a test light.
Turn the key on, hold test light at green lead and hit the key for primer.

The air screw might need to be out farther??
​They suggest 1 1/4 to start, but some need to be out more.
​One customer his 86/85 needs to be out 3 turns to even think about idling??.

Choke handle???
Pics?

Your carb have a white plastic plug on the top?
Under the plug is the mid range jet.
Make sure it's clear.

Tuni

Seaman Apprentice
Jerry,
​My ser# is OE 011553. Even though the cowl says Force on it, the serial number on the boat is a Mercury label.

​I'm assuming you mean to pinch off the lead to the carb bowl (which is the bottom tube). What will that tell me? Would this effect carb idle if it doesn't work? I'd like to get this thing running first, then fix the stuff broken.