85 hp force front CDI box (1 & 2) only works with #3 box kill wire disconnected

CowboyBill

Cadet
[FONT=&quot] [/FONT]
[FONT=&quot]First I apologize for the long post! Here?s my deal, I?m a heavy diesel mechanic by trade and I used to work on passenger cars but these outboards make me feel like a beginner. I need some help from the great minds/technicians on this forum! I have a 1987 85 hp Force that was a ?Good Deal?. Ran ok the first time we went out but not since. Would not run well then die when putting it in gear. Found Stator was bad 750oms on one set of leads, 0 on the other so I put a new one on. Now stator is good, trigger checks out within specs on all 3 pairs of wires. New plugs, cleaned all connections and verified that the connectors are soldered and/or crimped well. Cylinder 2 has no spark. Based on some of the great tips I?ve read here, I checked out the kill wiring from the CDI boxes and have no power coming to the white wires at any time. Unplugged these wires from the junction block and all 3 cylinders spark and the engine runs like a champ. Connecting the wires again and it dies. Disconnecting them again and starting it, again all 3 fire and connecting the front CD box (1&2) while the engine is running and there is no change and I can kill the engine with the key and restart it. But when I connect the rear (#3) it misses like crazy. Is this an indication of a bad CD box? Why does cylinder 2 stop firing when I connect the kill wire for the box that controls cylinder 3? What am I missing here? In a pinch can I run it with only the 2&3 CD box kill wire connected? Please help!!![/FONT]

Last edited:

Jiggz

Captain