Newbie here. Chrysler and Force use the same wiring and controlls?

kbh121956

Chief Petty Officer
I am a newbie, sorry. I removed a 1978 Chrysler 85 hp outboard and installed a 1987 Force 85 hp. Are they wired up the same, Can I use the Chrysler harness? Please help!

Nordin

Commander
Yes, you can use the Chrysler harness BUT the color code is different at the engines AND if the Chrysler had distributor you have to wire differnt to the Force.
Take a look at maxrules they have diagram of both engines and crossreferens the wires for each engines.

Nordin

Commander
Must recant a bit. Maxrules do not have the diagram for the 85Hp Force BUT they have for the 125Hp and it is very similar with the harness.
The 125Hp is a 4 cyl. engine and the 85Hp a 3 cyl.
Only different is the wiring for the ignition system. It has another trigger with 4 outputs instead of three.

kbh121956

Chief Petty Officer
Thank you for your help. I will try and find "Maxrules" on here.

kbh121956

Chief Petty Officer
Hello Nordin,
I am not much good with wiring schematics. On the Chrysler power head terminal block is as follows, Start - Yellow wire. Generator - Purple wire. Tachometer - White wire. Choke - Green wire. Heat - Orange wire. Battery+ - Red wire. Ignition - Blue wire. Ground - Black wire.

On the Force Power head The wiring terminal block is as follows, Start - Yellow wire. Tachometer - Purple wire. Magneto - White wire. ( 2 wires are connected on this, on the engine side.) Choke - Green wire. Heat - Orange wire. Battery+ - Red wire. Magneto Blue wire (no wire is on the engine side connected but has a terminal buss (strap) crossing over to the ground terminal . Ground - Black wire.

I am trying to use the factory Chrysler wiring harness that is still hooked up to the gauges in the boat, To the newer Force outboard. Any help from you good people will be much appreciated! Thank you.

kbh121956

Chief Petty Officer