1998 Force 120 HP Help

buddyt396

Cadet
I have a 1998 Force 120hp I bought new and have had very good service with it over the years. I recently had a problem with it not taking the fuel or something when you take off. (Won't plane off). It does it worst after you have run it a few minutes. Fuel line is good and ball stays hard. I noticed it has gas dripping out the front of the top carb while idling. Cleaned the carbs and replaced needles. Cleaned fairly new plugs. Went to river to fish and it's still doing the same thing

titaniumneck

Petty Officer 1st Class
I'm not going to say I'm a professional, but I have worked on plenty motors, so I will try to help. First off, what do you mean by the "not taking fuel or something"? Now, I have been told by some good guys on this site about a 75 EVINRUDE doing the same thing with the carb" spitting gas". Is the gas coming out of the carburetor throat, or the low pressure port? The EVINRUDE was spitting out of the low pressure port, which they said was normal for an older engine like this one, and the carburetors cover had a fuel recovery hose at the bottom of the carburetors cover housing. But can you please elaborate on the problem with the acceleration of the motor. I have worked on various outboards over the last 30 years.

roscoe

Supreme Mariner
Does the motor eventually get up to speed and wide open throttle?

I suggest starting by checking the compression and spark on each plug.

There are several possible causes.
Bent or broken reed valve is one.

Have you ever had the fuel pump rebuilt?
If nothing else, it is good preventive maintenance.
The diaphram in the pump tends to deteriorate over time, and faster if you use gas containing ethanol.
When this happens, little holes or tears develop, and it allows gas to leak through the back of the pump, into the block.
This causes a flooded condition, and the engine will bog and not reach full rpm.
Fuel pump rebuild kit is under $20.

buddyt396

Cadet