How to adjust carb bar on a 1992 Force 150

danharold

Recruit
Ok. The advice on my recent post was to see about fixing everything myself because the chances of finding an old timer mechanic that has actually worked on one of these is rare. Anyway, if I put a screwdriver between the carb mechanism and the throttle adjustment bar I can get it to run at a nice rpm (idle). But it is a good 1/4 inch gap. You cannot move the entire unit since it pivots on a bolt. Any Ideas? Thanks all in advance - Yes I am a rookie here. Dan

Attachments

• carb.pdf
    113.4 KB · Views: 14

Jiggz

Captain
There is a sticky post at the top of this forum that explains link and synch on the carbs and timing tower. However, you need to familiarize yourself first with the temrs used to describe parts of the carbs linkage and timing linkage. In the pic shown, there is the horizontal swivel rod, the cam pick up, tie bar and a little bit to the left is the timing tower (where the swivel rod connects to) and at the bottom of the timing tower is the idle screw adjustment. NOTE THIS PROCEDURES IS WITH THE ASSUMPTION THE MOTOR HAS NO PROBLEM STARTING AS LONG AS THE IDLE IS SET CORRECTLY.

I recommend you do a mechanical zero'ing of the carb linkage just to make sure you correctly make the adjustment for idle. Do the following in the suggested order.
1. Remove air covers on all carbs. Place control lever in full stop position.

2. Back off the idle adjustment screw (bottom of timing tower, need to loosen lock nut) so it just barely touches (without any pressure) against the engine block