Motor Won't Stop, Force 15hp, '85

Hello, this is my first time posting here. I'm just starting out with my first Jon boat and have found these forums to be very helpful so far! I appreciate any help with this riddle and apologize for the long read, but I want to make sure I don't leave anything important out. I've also posted this question in the electrical section..

I recently purchased a 15hp Force that starts and runs great. When I looked at it first, the seller said he's had a hard time killing it with the kill button at the end of the tiller handle, so he said he usually pulls the emergency kill to stop it. When he ran it for me, it wouldn't kill from either the button or the emergency. Wouldnt even choke out so we eventually pulled the spark plugs. I asked a mechanic I had taken another outboard to before what he thought about the problem and he said it's an easy, inexpensive fix. I purchased the motor and took it to the mechanic. I couldn't get through to them for the next two weeks so I drove over to the shop. They said they'd have it that afternoon and later called to say there was no way to shut it off and I need a new switch box that will cost over $200, labor not included. I didnt have the cash and was pretty bummed out. I took it from the shop without much plan.