Bluefin Spectrum w 85hp Force wont start or turn over newbie here looking for help

Quastello

Cadet
old guy with boat problems and never owned a boat but anyway the boat was running awesome everytime ive takin it out 6 times since purchased last fall, I did a bonehead rookie mistake of putting plug in wrong hole and took in lots of water and motor wouldn't turn over but ran it the nite before. I dried it out well for 4 days and put back together adding a new solenoid but same prob engine wont turn over. Redid a couple of other wires I hadn't replaced and same, I have power everywere on boat and at engine with tilt and chokes all working need some help for this old newbie thanks, could it be in the control levers? as I checked all fuses at dash and were all good

Last edited:

salmonslammer

Seaman
Not trying to be a tool... but are you sure it's in neutral?

Kill switch tether engaged?

Start with the simple things first...kill switch got me once.

Jiggz

Captain
You probably have tripped ckt breaker for the starting/charging ckt. Or you could also have a misaligned neutral switch. To make sure it is not the starter do the following troubleshooting. Prep the unit for starting making sure there is cooling water connected through muffs. DO NOT TURN ON THE WATER YET. Remove all plugs and then start it.

Did it crank over? Yes, then you can put back in the plugs. NO, then using a 3/8" or larger screw driver and holding it at its insulate handle, short the two large terminal posts on the starter solenoid. Did it crank over? Yes, you have ignition switch problem (since you said you have a new solenoid installed) either a tripped breaker or a neutral switch is misaligned. No, it means the starter could be bad or battery cables need to be cleaned and re-tightened, or there is a problem with the lower unit preventing the unit from cranking over. Remove the lower unit and try again. The preceding is with all plugs removed.