55HP Chrysler '76 557HG seized

inkdbeard

Cadet
I am new to iboats and this is my first post. I have looked and did not see any previous posts pertaining to my issue, but should one exist feel free to redirect me. As the title suggests, I have a 55HP 1976 Chrysler 557HG. I got it from a coworker who let it sit for 2 years but ran fine the last time he had fired it up. How recent, I am not sure but within the last year. It was stored outside but the exterior looks O.K. Inside the cover, all looks well. However, it will not turn over. And by turn over, I mean by hand. It has not been connected to a battery or given power but it is almost as if, for all intents and purposes, we will say it is, seized. I am stumped as to why. It is not at TDC and the portion of the cylinder walls that I can see look good. I can't turn the flywheel by hand, with a power bar or an impact gun. I am mechanically inclined but most definitely not a mechanic. Is it possible it is not seized and my issue lies elsewhere? I fear he ran it with too little or no oil and did not winterize it. I expect I'll have to tear it apart, but am concerned with availability of parts.

Any info or help will be greatly appreciated.

pnwboat

Rear Admiral
Parts are definitely hard to get as they have been out of production for many years. Especially the major engine components like pistons, rings etc. Many of the other parts like water pump impeller, fuel pump diaphragm, head gasket are still available.