85hp outboard force motor tune up

Jimbo82

Cadet
I'm new to boating this is my 1st boat.1989 bayliner 1700 bowrider.How Do I go by doing a tune up on the motor.I know spark plugs and fuel filter what else should I replace ...thanks

SkiDad

Lieutenant Commander
Correct plugs are NGK BUHX. Mix 2-stroke oil in gas 50:1 = 1 quart for 12 gallons of gas. Definitely change water impeller (on top of lower unit). http://forums.iboats.com/forum/engi.../237589-step-by-step-impeller-change?t=231685

Also changing lower unit oil is a good idea. (watch out for the small screw on the side of the lower unit - don't remove it) there are 2 flat head screws at the top about the size of a dime and one allen screw on the bottom that is the drain)
force lower.PNG

then take it for a run - should hit 5000-5500 rpm at full throttle. if it runs good I would leave the rest alone - if you have running issues check out this link: http://forums.iboats.com/forum/engi...ler-outboards/616464-carb-and-timing-tutorial

jerryjerry05

Supreme Mariner
What you need to do: Plugs, gear oil, filters, grease zerks, grease prop shaft, lube linkage.
​The timing usually doesn't need adjusting unless the linkage has been moved or the triggers been replaced.

Do a compression test.
Since it's new to you I'd do a de-carb.
Maybe check the fuel in the tank? Ethanol is a pain in anything that's been setting.

If it starts and runs? I'd mix 1/2 gal. gas and a fuel additive from Chevron(about 12oz.). Called Techron by Chevron.
Add a few ounces of TCW-3 oil and run it through the fuel system.
It really helps clean out the system.

Check the hoses for soft, mushy or delamination. Get ethanol use hoses.

Install a filter(G-2, G-3, G-12) between the pump and the carbs.
I have a water separating filter at the tank. (just changed it and found some rust(from ethanol)and some water.

jerryjerry05

Supreme Mariner
The grease fittings: they are pressed in and can pop out if not fllled properly.