Please help!? Shift cable/throttle cable?

Donnyb83

Petty Officer 3rd Class
Please help,I'm new to boats. I just bought my first boat. Got a good deal. 1978 sportcraft with an original 800 80 HP mercury engine that runs good. However there are some minor repairs. One of them I noticed is a freyed rusted cable going to the engine. It has one right above it the same size also. I'm guessing they are shift cables/throttle cable. Am I right? They go to the original mercury throttle. There is a fat casing also coming out. (I'm guessing in there would be ignition and steering cables) not sure. Could someone please help me. I need to know if I'm right. If this is normal wear and do I need to order these from mercury?. The top cable looks fine but I guess I'll replace this one also. How hard is it to replace myself. I do have some engine knowledge and work on my own truck from time to time. I can't find anything on the internet. Any help would be greatly appreciated. I'm from South Jersey and want to be in the water soon. Thank you! I tried uploading pics but it kept saying wrong file,or file too big. The boat looks excellent. Transom is in excellent condition. New floor, carpet. So it's not what you think if you think wow 1978. I know it sounds like an old headache. I bought this boat because it was the exact same boat my pops had growing up until I was about 10. Again thank you for any help.

crazyinkc

Petty Officer 2nd Class
Is it hard to move the controls and steering? Without a pic, it is hard to judge. You need to resize your pics to get them to load. I think there is a sticky at the top of the forum.

GA_Boater

Honorary Moderator Emeritus
Welcome aboard, Donnyb.

First off - To add photos, click on the Forum Help link in the sig below and look at the photo tutorial. Option 3 is the easiest to use and adds a nice sized pic. Also you need to have more than 3 posts to attach photos.