wiring two batteries

fishermanof93

Seaman Apprentice
I have a small aluminum flat bottom and was thinking about adding a second battery. I don't have electric start but I have two locaters and a livewell on it. not sure if I will even need a second one or not but my trolling motor can be switched between 24 and 12 volt. I think I would get a significant amount of more power running as 24 but I don't know that for sure. what my question is, is it possible to hook these batteries up in series and parallel. so that I have the higher voltage and longer life for the electronics.also if they were in series I would assume I can just run a standard charger on one of them and they will both charge? I use to do a lot of car and stereo wiring so that's not a problem just having a problem thinking threw this. if the picture doesn't make since sorry I am not good with paint.Untitled.jpg

UncleWillie

Captain
STOP!!!
If you wire it the way you show it in the drawing, You will destroy the batteries before you could dive for cover.
You have both batteries dead shorted. Smoke and fire in less that a second will be the result! :eek:
You can wire then in Series OR Parallel, Never both ways!

Last edited:

alldodge

Staff member
+1 agree, best suggestion would be leave it as 12V only unless you install a third battery for electronics

UncleWillie

Captain
... my trolling motor can be switched between 24 and 12 volt.
I think I would get a significant amount of more power running as 24 but I don't know that for sure...

12 volts is higher current at a lower voltage. Heavier gage wires needed
24 volts is lower current at a higher voltage. Lighter gage wires needed.

12 volts or 24, the power is the same and the batteries will last just as long.

Last edited:

fishermanof93

Seaman Apprentice
can I do this and if so which one of the batteries would be better to run the depth finders off of to reduce 'noise" Untitled.jpg

2 Eagles

Petty Officer 1st Class