booming sound system on outboard yamaha 115

DemBoyz

Cadet
Hello guys im new to this but i had a question.. i bought a 2013 glastron gt180 with a yamaha 115 outboard. The boat came with a nice tower but now i want to install some tower speakers and a sub. The question is this.. my boat came with only 1 battery. What would i need to be able to run 2 amps without killing my battery?

NYBo

Admiral
Re: booming sound system on outboard yamaha 115

Welcome to iboats!:welcome:

For 5 minutes? Sure! But beyond that, it's not possible to answer without knowing many more details. But the best bet is to have second battery and at least a battery switch to help ensure you don't get stranded. With really powerful amps, you might even need another battery to keep the tunes going.

DemBoyz

Cadet

Thanks for the reply.. i started doing a little research on the yamaha and it states the alternator puts out 24amps. Would that be enough to charge both batteries or would i need a charger? Isolator?

midcarolina

Chief Petty Officer

You really need to give a little more info....... what budget range, what do you consider booming like how big of a sub and how many speakers.......

UncleWillie

Captain

24 amps is ~300 Watts Absolute Max when the engine is reved up. Much less at idle. Nothing when Stopped.
Some of that (~50w) will be needed just to power the engine ignition circuits and budget another 50 to charge the battery back up.
Allow another 50 for all the gauges and lights and other stuff you may have on board.

That leaves you ~150w for your audio equipment.
Keep the AMPs below 50 Watts per side and you might just make it,
but it will be straining the alternator if you keep it up continuously.
Keep the music at conversational levels and everyone on the lake will appreciate it!

If you dedicate one deep cycle battery to the sound system while anchored;
The alternator will recharge the battery when you restart the engine with the music OFF.