Depthfinder/chartplotter combos

bonz_d

Vice Admiral
My new used fishing boat came with an old Humminbird that is outdated and not working very well so I've been looking for a new replacement.

The 1st one on the list is the Lowrance Elite5 HDI. I've heard very good things about this unit and am seriously concidering buying one. Now also I have never used a chartplotter before and have no ideas as to where to begin with one. Is it worth the added expense or really needed when most of the waters I fish are less than 1000 acres, less than 40' deep and most of the fishing I do is by sight. How would you judge what is really needed in a unit? Would really like to try the down imaging.

Anyone know what Humminbirds equivalent unit is?

agallant80

Commander
Re: Depthfinder/chartplotter combos

I have the Elite 7 its a good plotter, I think the 5 is just a smaller screen. As for the actual plotter function it depends. Its nice being able to save points. For example the lake I go to has a river inlet to it. It all looks the same. I just found the inlet marked it on the plotter and now it shows up so I always know where it is if I want to go there. You can use the same feature for good fishing holes or what not. In terms of plotting I have never plotted a course on it. I just look at the map and where I am and where I want to go. There are all kinds of cool features. One that I like is the course line. It will extend a line out from where you are so you can see where you are heading. Good for traveling open bodies of water. I used that feature when I boated up the Chesapeake bay.

With that said its not a replacement for navigation markers. I have found that the markers on the map and the markers in the real world can be off. Also the maps will have depth which is always changing on the NC coast.

Last edited:

GA_Boater

Honorary Moderator Emeritus