Garmin GPS 492 too outdated?

QuietRider21

Seaman
hey,
ive came across a Garmin GPS 492 model for sale on craigslist. I have no experience with GPS/chart plotters. I'm not looking to do anything crazy with it but at least have it navigate the shallow bays & inlets for the most. I know the 492 has been out for quite a while so i was concerned with it being outdated. Would this be ok for what i would need it for it? would i need to buy software & update it? Lastly, considering it is used & getting old, would i actually have to test it in a boat to ensure it works properly?
thanks!!

alldodge

Staff member
Re: Garmin GPS 492 too outdated?

hey,
ive came across a Garmin GPS 492 model for sale on craigslist. I have no experience with GPS/chart plotters. I'm not looking to do anything crazy with it but at least have it navigate the shallow bays & inlets for the most. I know the 492 has been out for quite a while so i was concerned with it being outdated. Would this be ok for what i would need it for it? would i need to buy software & update it? Lastly, considering it is used & getting old, would i actually have to test it in a boat to ensure it works properly?
thanks!!

The 492 is a current model. For it to be on Craigs list I would suspect it would be one of three possibilities:
Was not what someone wanted and wants something different and they have plenty of money
Something happened to it and (you can fill in the rest)
It is stolen and the thief wants to sell it

If it works it will work fine for what your doing, may need a map for your specific area for specifics (see Garmin)
You should be able to hook it up to a car battery and work through the functions if your outside

Read up on the manual before you inquire
Good luck

UncleWillie

Captain

^^^ What He Said!

Bring something to put water in. (Pail, Tote, Waste paper basket.)

Power it up out of the water and note the display. It WILL be ugly with crazy depth readings.