Brand New Old Model Garmin FF 100 .....Use it or Sell it?

iamslotman

Cadet
I purchased a used 20' boat and it came with a brand new in the box Garmin Fishfinder 100 (Not Blue or Echo) complete with all wiring and transducer in the box. The previous owner received it as a gift in 1998 and never opened it. Still has a $199.99 price tag on it. I don't know if I should bother installing it or should I try selling it for whatever I can and put the money towards something newer with a bigger screen and better resolution? I will be fishing in Moriches Bay which in not very deep and I have never used a fish finder before. Has anyone had any experiance with this unit? I am not looking for a lot of bells and whistles, but I have poor eyes and I don't want to install it and make it worthless to resell if it doesn't do much. If I was to buy a new one I would be looking to spend only about $300 and hopefully get a bigger screen. So many I look at give depths to 2000 feet. I don't have the balls to ever go outside the inlet with a 20' boat so paying for extra power seems a waste. Also this boat only uses one bayyery and when I see some units rated at 400 watts.... is that meaning a second battery is needed just to power the electronics? thanks obviously I am new to this.

ondarvr

Supreme Mariner
Re: Brand New Old Model Garmin FF 100 .....Use it or Sell it?

The old unit isn't worth much, and the same price now will get you a far better unit.

After saying that, it will work, but for bad eyes a newer unit with better lighting is the way to go.

dingbat

Supreme Mariner

So many I look at give depths to 2000 feet. I don't have the balls to ever go outside the inlet with a 20' boat so paying for extra power seems a waste. Also this boat only uses one bayyery and when I see some units rated at 400 watts.... is that meaning a second battery is needed just to power the electronics? thanks obviously I am new to this.
The advertised depth figures are bogus.