Need Advice re-wiring Pontoon

Jchandler5008

Recruit
My step-father recently purchased a used Play-Craft Pontoon with a 90 hp Mercury 2 stroke outboard. We have had a fish/ski boat for years so I'm somewhat familiar with boats but I have very little experience with wiring them. The wiring on the Pontoon needs overhauled (in my opinion). It looks like someone wired it with spare parts from their garage after finishing a case (or two) of beer. I searched through the forums and have gone through several wiring diagrams for Pontoon boats with two batteries. I have a diagram drawn out for this pontoon but I have several questions about the components.

1. The boat came with two deep cell batteries that had sat for awhile. One was located in the rear compartment adjacent to the motor and the other was 'jimmy rigged' behind the captain's chair. Both were dead on arrival however i was able to charge them enough to start the motor, operate the trim/fishfinder/stereo/lights. The starter battery was wired to a fuse block (see picture) and from what I can tell powers the starter/trim/gauges. Battery #2 was wired to a switch panel that is seperate from the fuse block, that operates the fishfinder/stereo/lights/CB. I took both batteries to AutoZone to have them charged and luckily for me they accidentally sent them out with the deposit truck.. So I now have two brand new deep cell RV/Marine Batteries. My question is should one of the batteries say "Starter" on it or is it okay that they are both 12V deep cell marine batteries?

2. I plan on building a small shelf in the rear compartment to hold both batteries up off of the floor and in place. I would like to replace the ancient fuse panel in the console. Does anyone have suggestions as far as what kind of fuse block or panel would be appropriate for this type of application? Is there one that is made to connect two two batteries?