Wiring Fishing boat from scratch - Batteries, house loads

JackAndCoke

Recruit
After having spent my evening reading through different threads, taking notes, crossing out notes and giving myself a throbbing headache, I decided just to make my own thread. Basically I am wiring my boston whaler with a 90 hp outboard yamaha for a proper fishing boat. I'm new to boat wiring so please bare with me!

Although it may be overkill I would like to have 3 batteries in the boat that would all get charged by the alternator. I keep reading only about 3 batteries on a twin engine boat, is it even possible? I say 3 batteries because I will be doing fishing tournaments, thus spending the whole day on the water with the house loads of:
-trolling motor (which I would prefer to be running on 24 volt)
-aerator (for livewell)
-pump (for livewell)
-bilge pump
-fish finder
-lights

I understand that running the batteries in parallel (like this http://forums.iboats.com/attachment.php?attachmentid=201820&d=1373124988 ) will make one big battery, only as strong as the weakest one.

If I just use two batteries and a switch (like in this thread http://forums.iboats.com/electrical...tors/need-info-adding-2nd-battery-249593.html ), I am basically killing one battery with all my house loads and reserving the other battery for starting, however both are getting charged when I'm driving, right? Am I better off using an isolator (I admit I did less research on this).

Comments, diagrams, suggestions are all appreciated!

Silvertip

Supreme Mariner
Re: Wiring Fishing boat from scratch - Batteries, house loads