how to wire a 2 amp audio setup

dane112

Cadet
Ok guys here's a question for ya. i have purchaser my audio setup for my boat. i have a powerful 1 channel amp for my sub and a 4 channel amp for my 6 speakers. how do i exactly wire this. do you connect amps together or just both straight to the back of the head? Does anyone have a diagram at hand? Thanks

NYBo

Admiral
Re: how to wire a 2 amp audio setup

I'm no expert by any means, but i think it depends on the amps and the head unit.

TimBobCom

Petty Officer 2nd Class

You will need a crossover to split the bass frequency from the 4 other channels and drive it to just the sub. Hopefully your stereo already has pre-amp outputs for all 4 channels and the subwoofer with a built-in crossover, if not you will need to add this component to your system. Once you have 6 pre-amp outputs it's just connecting the outputs to the correct amp inputs, then the outputs of the amps to the speakers.

Then you move on to the power wiring, where you will likely need to run some new power leads from the battery to run those amps, then remote turn on leads to the stereo and you should be all set.

wingless

Petty Officer 2nd Class

What head unit and what amp?

The head unit on my 2,500W system has a sub output and main outputs. The amps have pass through outputs to permit multiple amps on the same channel. My observations are that the pass through works fine.

StereoWiringR9.jpg

dane112

Cadet

ok i have a rockford fosgate head unit - RFX9700CD
and i have two Alpine PDX 4.100 amps.... ( 4x100watt channels)
i have 4 8" full range coax speakers... Rockford fosgate m282b
and two 6" full range coax speakers... rockford fosgate m262b
and a 12" rockford fosgate subwoofer...

dane112

Cadet

also the head unit has •3 Sets of 2V preamp outputs (front, rear and subwoofer)... if that helps

wingless

Petty Officer 2nd Class

i have a powerful 1 channel amp for my sub and a 4 channel amp for my 6 speakers.