Navigation Light Alarm Panel

phnphunk

Recruit
Greetings to the list,
I am an instructor at a trade school specializing in marine systems. I am looking for a relatively simple wiring diagram that would include LED indicator lights and an alarm function for a standard navigation light circuit. Any and all help would be appreciated.

Silvertip

Supreme Mariner
Re: Navigation Light Alarm Panel

An alarm function for what? A burned out bulb? And what are the LED lights for? To tell you when the NAV lights are on? If all of these are true, then just because there is an indicator light for the nav lights, it does not guarantee the light is actually on. It would merely indicate the switch is on. There are a gazillion switches on the market with built in indicators so no diagram is really needed. As for an alarm -- that's puzzling so a little more detail about what you are trying to accomplish would be extremely helpful. Armed with more info, I would be happy to configure something for you. However, if you are an instructor at a marine school, I would assume there are also some marine electrical instructors at this school that could provide what you need.

actually if you ran a light in series with the wiring to the nav light it would tell u if it was working or not. if the nav light is on the other light would be to, if the nav light or wiring burnt they would break the circuit which would turn off the other light (ever had to deal with christmas lights where 1 bad bulb makes all the light go out well same concept). its how the little boxes in high end cars can tell if u have a light out. now the alarm thing i have no idea what ur talking about or why u would even need one, hell i dont even know why u need the light ether, you can just look at the front of ur boat and see the glow of the nav light (thats what i do to know its working)
joe

Mark42

Fleet Admiral

Greetings to the list,