fish finders grayscale? do i need 300 or more pixels?

hi im a newbie - had boat out twice now1992 180 nitro fs 18 ft fiberglass with 150 hp johnston evinrude- it runs well and both trips were with a boat mechanic friend just to check what works and what needs fixing on my 18 year old boat also my first boat- i want to buy an affordable fish finder to go fishing but also for water depth so as a newbie i dont run up upon sand bars or rocks ect. i dont want to spend alot but also dont want to get a model so cheap that it wont have the features i need . to give you an idea im thinking 150.00 or less i dont mind gray scale as they seem most affordable - i was told by some that the grayscales are hard to see in daylight but others say they are just fine ( what is your opinion) and i was told by an experienced angler that i needed to buy a fish finder with at least 300 or more pixel resolution ( your opinion?) i would love to buy some thing more expensive but given the fact that my wife doesnt understand why i need one any way and complains about the price over 100.00 i think i better stick to the affordable grayscales ( girls dont understand anything important) so give me your input and do any of you use a grayscale and is it really hard to see in sunlight and which would you recommend under 150.00 again i just need one for fish finding ( MOSTLY CATFISH) ocassionly bass or other and for water depth- temp would be nice and speed capability a bonus- thanks for your thoughts.:rolleyes:

jtexas

Fleet Admiral
Re: fish finders grayscale? do i need 300 or more pixels?

three most important features of a fishfinder: resolution, resolution and resolution.

get the most vertical pixels per inch you can afford. 300 x 300 pixels on a 5" diagonal screen is about 85 pixels per inch -- I agree 100% with your friend, anything less than that is a child's toy.