Help With Location of VHF Radio and Antenna

mtp9302

Seaman Apprentice
Hello all, I am new to boating and confused about the installation of my VHF radio and antenna. I have a 1985 Wellcraft 190 American (19' open bow), and I am currently contemplating installation of a VHF radio/antenna package I bought - a Cobra MR F45 fixed-mount VHF radio with a Shakespeare 5206-N antenna (8', 6 dB gain).

I did a lot of reading before buying and it seemed like this would be a good general-purpose combination for my boat, but I'm confused about the installation spacing requirements I'm discovering. I've read about three requirements that I'm not sure how I'm going to satisfy (I've read about them in many places, but see the attached picture of the radio owner's manual page where they are stated):

- Radio must be 3' away form compass.

- All people must be 10' away from antenna when transmitting.

- Lowest point of antenna must be 1' above everyone's head.

Am I misunderstanding these, or are they just a legal disclaimer that they have to put in there that no one follows?

The compass requirement makes the most sense, but even there the compass is on top of my dash. There is no place at the driver's helm that I could mount the radio, still see it, and be 3' away from the compass. The only solution I see would be to mount the radio on the port side (passenger seat), but I was under the impression the captain should have the most radio access?

I understand that invisible energy is real and must be respected, but if everyone were 10' away from the antenna when transmitting there would be no one in the boat. Also, to mount the antenna over everyone's head it would have to be higher than the windshield.