1980 Starcraft Holiday 181 Mercruiser trim/tilt dash switch/lights

80Starcraft

Cadet
I'm fairly new to boating & I recently bought this 18' Starcraft I/O, but it had no owners manual. It has both Trim Limit & Position senders, and the trim limiting & tilt work, but there's no actual tilt gauge. There is a spring loaded switch on the instrument panel, which will illuminate the two corresponding umarked lights, but doesn't seem to do anything else that I can detect. There are also 2 other lights below those that also have the lettering worn off. Does anyone have any idea what the switch does or what the lights are supposed to indicate? I'm hesitant to take it out on the water until I'm sure that everything is operating correctly, and I'm fully familiarized with it's operation.
Thanks

80Starcraft

Cadet
Hi, I've tried to upload a jpg photo in both 640x480, & 600x800, but it keeps coming up with "ERROR". I'm waiting to hear from the moderator about it, unless you know why it won't upload. ??

jbcurt00

Staff member
FYI, boat owners manuals arent like car manuals. I doubt any of your questions would be answered in an owners manual.

I/O switches, off hand, in no particular order:
Bilge pump (could be a moment switch, only on while held on, but might be on or off)
Blower (on or off, like a light switch)
Navigation lights (likely a 3position switch, 1 for bow(running) 1 for stern (anchor) and 1position for both)
Cabin/cockpit/interior lighting (on or off)

An 18ft Holiday would definitely have all of those switches except, perhaps the last, cabin lights.

Look thru some of the topics posted here:
http://forums.iboats.com/forum/owners-groups-by-manufacturer/s/starcraft-boats
Lots of inspiration in those topics

80Starcraft

Cadet
Thanks for the responses. First, I must apologize. I didn't realize that I have to post 3 times before I can upload photo's. (When all else fails, read directions!)