Tachometer for a Suzuki

Sibilicus

Cadet
Well since no one answered my previous post I figured I wasn't asking the right question or it sounded so dumb no one wanted to answer. I am not a mechanic but am trying to save some money, so excuse me if I sound stupid. It may be that the wise move would be to take it to a mechanic but I want to ask one more "stupid" question. Can any tachometer work on any motor? If any tach can work, and I'm hooking up the right wires, why wouldn't the tach work? Haw can I trouble shoot a non-working tach. Any help would be appreciated even if its telling me to take it to someone who knows.

HT32BSX115

Supreme Mariner
Well since no one answered my previous post I figured I wasn't asking the right question or it sounded so dumb no one wanted to answer. I am not a mechanic but am trying to save some money, so excuse me if I sound stupid. It may be that the wise move would be to take it to a mechanic but I want to ask one more "stupid" question. Can any tachometer work on any motor? If any tach can work, and I'm hooking up the right wires, why wouldn't the tach work?
Haw can I trouble shoot a non-working tach
. Any help would be appreciated even if its telling me to take it to someone who knows.

Howdy,

Welcome aboard!

A tachometer is pretty much a simple (voltage) pulse counter that displays in RPM.

There's usually a switch on the back so you can tell it if the engine has 4, 6 or 8 cyl etc and if 2 stroke etc.

Can any tachometer work on any motor?
Essentially, YES. To display accurately, it would need to be switchable or selectable to match the number of cyls the engine has (even/odd/2cy/4cy etc)

If any tach can work, and I'm hooking up the right wires, why wouldn't the tach work?
Well, the obvious possibilities include a defective tach or it's connected wrong.

Haw can I trouble shoot a non-working tach