1987 Bluewater rebuild

engine350400

Cadet
Hello This is my first time posting, I have a 1987 17' Bluewater open bow, almost every piece of wood is rotten. I got a really good deal on this boat it has a cracked 4.3 cobra, and a rotten deck. the hull has some dings and scratches, but it will shine up pretty good. the interior is not great but not too bad. I have completely removed all the wood, the motor and out drive. The transom and rear section of stringers were replaced by somebody that did not do a good job at all. The wood i removed from the transom was cut in six individual pieces. My dad actually noticed that the transom is not flat, it has a slight curve in it. I have just got to the 90% mark on grinding the hull and looking to do the transom in the next week or so.

The question i have is, with the transom being curved how should i go about putting ply back there? I dont want to cut 6 pieces like the previous people did. I have already bought the two pieces of 3/4 plywood i was going to use but i dont think i can get it to conform to the slight curve in the transom. boat 1.jpg 20150510_175123.jpg

zool

Captain
One way to curve your transom is to lay up progressive layers of thin ply...like 4 layers of 3/8 one at a time.

another way is to laminate 2-3/4 pieces of ply, then cut kerfs in it at 1 inch+- intervals, and contour it to the outer hull. fill in the voids with pb. The 1st way is my preference.

johnnybgood

Seaman
I'm no expert but your transom may be a case to use pourable sea cast, others on here may know more than me

sublauxation

Lieutenant
I also know nothing about the stuff but definitely look into Sea Cast, it seems it was meant for these exact situations, and it's a job you only want to do once.

sphelps

Supreme Mariner
Check out archbuilder's Project Fuggly ..
He is doing a Seacast I/O transom now and almost at the pour stage .