Add resin to gel coats ?

mokaa

Cadet
I add about 1.5 kg resin to 8k gel coat and add more pigment like 800g (color black) and spray it as flow coat then spry the pva . There's problem i will get in the future ?

Woodonglass

Supreme Mariner
What are you trying to accomplish? I'm NOT a Gelcoat expert by any stretch but...

Adding Polyester resin to your Gelcoat mix is NOT gunna work. While Gelcoat uses Polyester as it's BASE it has additional chemicals in it. Adding more Polyester resin to it will really mess things up IMHO.

Last edited:

ondarvr

Supreme Mariner
Like Wood said, it depends on what you expect to do with it.

Gel coat bases are typically ISO resins, laminating resin is normally a DCPD - ORTHO blend, there are other blends, but these are the lowest in cost and most common.

DCPD resins tend to weather poorly, can be rather rigid, to the point of being brittle, they also cure quite well even without wax being added to it, and don't shrink as much as other types. ORTHO's tend to be weaker, less water and weather resistant, more flexible and easy to work with.

Adding laminating resin to gel coat will lower the viscosity so it will flow better, Patchaid is made from the same base resin as gel coat and is added so gel coat can be sprayed more easily when doing repairs with smaller spray equipment. Adding laminating resin will work, but it may change some of the characteristics of the gel coat, but as a flow coat it should be OK.

Adding pigment back into it will help it weather better than without it.

mokaa

Cadet
First, thx for your help Really i don't know what to do now, i spray my fishing boat 15m (hull only) with this way (resin to gel coats) my boat stay in water(salt water) for long long time (4-5) year. what should i do now ?! sanding the Hull again and spray it with gel coate only ! or keep it ,

Woodonglass

Supreme Mariner