Fiberglass on Pressure Treated Wood

dillonheath08

Petty Officer 3rd Class
Hi everyone,

I read an article online last night that stated laying fiberglass over pressure treated wood was a major mistake. It said that it would not stick to the treated wood because of all the chemicals. So this lead to me spending the next few hours researching and reading forum after forum regarding this issue. I am currently undergoing a restoration and have already bought some of my plywood. And yes, it is pressure treated. I know I am new to the boating world and boat restoration so I thought treated was the way to go because moisture is the enemy when it comes to boat structures. I have read account after account giving reasons why you should or should not use pressure treated wood. Anybody tried it? All tips and advice are more than welcome. I just want to get my supplies ready so when the deconstruction is through I can go straight into planning and then eventually into cutting and glassing. Thanks in advanced.

Woodonglass

Supreme Mariner
It's not the chemicals that make it not stick it's the wetness of the woods if you dry the wood out really well for about 10 days to two weeks you should be able to get the fiberglass to stick to it with good results with no problems others have done it in the past with good results

Last edited:

Bob_VT

Moderator & Unofficial iBoats Historian
Staff member
Well...... some people age and dry the PT wood before they attempt it and epoxy works better.

kcassells

Fleet Admiral
Hi everyone,