questions about painting a 18' bayliner capri.....

dgsmooth

Cadet
cheers all, new to the site (and some-what to boating as well i suppose)..... we picked up a 93 bayliner capri couple years ago. so far been a great boat. i'm a mechanic by trade and got it all running sweet and all that works great. issue is it doesn't look nearly as great as it really is anymore. i have painted cars before (yes in a real spray booth etc etc) and had 'pretty' good luck, thinking about painting out boat. the research i've done so far tells me not to spray to roll and tip anyways, which sounds good, but i'm more worried about the physical 'logistics' of doing it...... how do you paint the area's sitting on the trailer? if i roll it off onto stands, how do i paint the areas under the stands? just move the stands? is there a way to do it on the trailer? for an 18' capri with the engine in (cargo removed of course), how much support do you think is necessary? 4 one foot by one foot surfaces be enough? at the front where the profile is sharp, will the center of the hull support the front end weight with a couple stands at rear? thanks to all for any help or start on this.....

Woodonglass

Supreme Mariner
If you have a bunk trailer, I'd say you could paint her on the trailer. Just make two stands and slide her back on to them and paint the back half then slide her forward after the back half has cured. then jack up the front of the trailer for easier access to the front and paint the front. Shouldn't be that much of a problem to get to all the areas. If you have experience spraying I'd spray it and not roll n' tip it.

Axkiker

Petty Officer 1st Class