1972 Silverline Comoro 16T restoration

miadolfan13

Cadet
Hello! My name is Keith and I am a boating noob! Aside from a jon boat and a jet ski, I know nothing of boats. I bought a 1972 Silverline Comoro 16T with a 1975 Johnson 70 HP Sea Horse for $400 last month and I've been just thinking about it ever since. I don't know exactly where to start.

I probably shouldn't have purchased this particular boat, but the guy needed to sell it and I had a little extra cash to spare. I figured it would be something to work on in my free time, so I did it. My mistakes? The Johnson doesn't currently run. The PO said it ran when he bought it a few years ago, but he didn't know anything about boats either, so it sat. I've looked the engine over and it shows signs of a rebuild, or at least some replacement parts. I've heard these motors are pretty dependable, so I'm hoping to get it running soon. In fact, I plan to do nothing to the boat until the motor is running.

I'm posting here today to ask a few questions:

Does anyone have any info on this particular make/model of boat? I found very little on the net.

Any input on the Johnson? Basic information on getting it running would be helpful. Is it a typically good engine?

What types of problems should I expect going into this little restoration project?

Now, I have been trolling this site for a bit and I know you can't tell me a whole lot without some pictures. I will be putting some up after I am able to take them. I expect the typical things like a transom rebuild and stringer rebuilds. The floor has bare plywood screwed down to the original floor and it is rotted like a nobody's business. My first intent is to get it all pulled up to see what type of problems the floor might have.

Thanks for any input. I'm hoping to learn a lot from y'all while doing this job.

Bob_VT

Moderator & Unofficial iBoats Historian
Staff member
Re: 1972 Silverline Comoro 16T restoration

Welcome to iboats.