1985 Bass Tracker TX17 restoration attempt

Patsway

Cadet
Hello everyone
I just purchased a 1985 TX17 Tracker for harly anything. I think i know now why it was so cheap. It is a mess, the carpet is nearly coming apart, the consoe is falling apart, etc,,. I still want to attempt to rebuild the boat to something I can use to go out fishing on my few days off. I know I need to start with tearing out the floors but...I know the boat must leak some as the foam in the back of the boat is basically mildewed it is so waterlooged. Should I just reove everything including the foam and then start looking for leaks. I am totally new to this but am fairly handy with a love of fixing things and willingness to try, any help would be greatly appreciated on this huge project for me. Also the transom is wooden and looks ok but i would like to replace it if possible. Thanks to everyone on this board for your help

GT1000000

Rear Admiral
Re: 1985 Bass Tracker TX17 restoration attempt

Hi and welcome to the Iboats.com dry dock, Patsway...
Sounds like you are ready, willing and able to tackle this big project...
Keep removing stuff from the boat until you are ready to pull the cap off...
Remove the engine and all the controls, cut away the deck using a circular saw set to the depth of the deck, plus a tiny bit more and cut a couple/3-4 inches from the edge of it, dig out all the foam, remove the rub rail, etc...
Then you'll need to make a solid support for the hull before you remove the cap to insure it stays in the correct shape...
Take lots of pictures so you can post them here, they help us see what you see and give the best advice as to how to proceed with the restoration...they also help to document your build for your reference and they can help future boat restorers...
The really knowledgeable folks here will be here to guide you along.
Best of luck and have fun!
GT1M:)

Patsway

Cadet