1980 Sea Nymph Restoration

EGHass

Cadet
According to the registration this boat is 1980 15'. It has an 80" beam and was given to me along with a new trolling motor, 15 poles, tralier and a 1980 long shaft 50 HP Mercury motor that runs great. Brought it home and started to clean it up but ended up completely stripping the boat and make it a "total restoration" project. I finally decided to join this site and share my project. I am by no means a professional at this but my dad built boats in the late 50's from a kit and was willing to help. I hope I can post a pic when we brought it home in February and a pic showing the totally rebuilt trailer and after installing about 100 rivets to the bottom. Currently we are painting the bottom. By the way, the bow plate measures about 105* and I cannot find anything close to this....any ideas? Also, since I cannot find another boat remotely close to this one I would like to know if anybody knows anything about this wide beam, deep V, 20" transome, double riveted boat.

jvanhees

Petty Officer 1st Class
Re: 1980 Sea Nymph Restoration

Welcome! Post up some pics when you can! Sounds like a great boat with that large of a beam.

Can you read the SN ID # on the back of the boat? Mine was on the back where the motor sits....left side, stamped/etched into the Alum.

EGHass

Cadet

Here are a few pics.

Attachments

• 1.jpg
    1.jpg
    60 KB · Views: 1
  • 3.jpg
    3.jpg
    134.6 KB · Views: 0
  • 6.jpg
    6.jpg
    132.4 KB · Views: 0
  • Painting Sea Nymph.jpg
    Painting Sea Nymph.jpg
    17.6 KB · Views: 1

Woodonglass

Supreme Mariner

What Method and materials are you using to paint the boat? Also, what do you mean by..."By the way, the bow plate measures about 105* and I cannot find anything close to this....any ideas?"

EGHass

Cadet