CSM or Not on deck repair.

dmar11bb

Seaman Apprentice
Well this is my first post here. I've been using the site for many years on various repairs. I am confused about something. I have read many posts on deck and stringer repair, and I am doing my first deck and transom repair on a 25 year old Center Console. A very simple question. Should I lay down CSM on the deck before my next layer of roving or cloth? I read yesterday that the CSM is a waste of time and money. I am using ply and poly resin. Should I just be using a combo fiberglass cloth?

jigngrub

Fleet Admiral
Re: CSM or Not on deck repair.

You can skip the lone layup of CSM if you use the 1708 biaxial cloth, the 1708 has the CSM sewn onto the back of it so you get 2 layups in one.

dmar11bb

Seaman Apprentice

Thank you for your reply. This is by far and away the best site with the best people!

Yacht Dr.

Vice Admiral

Hello Dmar and welcome to Iboats :) ..

Should I lay down CSM on the deck before my next layer of roving or cloth? I read yesterday that the CSM is a waste of time and money. I am using ply and poly resin. Should I just be using a combo fiberglass cloth?

While Jig is somewhat correct.. its not always the case that 1708 is a stand alone "dual layup" material. Mat is used for the initial Bonding of your glass. 1708 is mat backed ( or fronted if you like ) but it Might give you trouble when laying up over plywood alone. It only has .8 oz of mat on it..thats half of the standard 1.5 oz Mat typically used for bonding. Consider using the 1.5 oz mat when going over raw ply. Now if you have "prepped" ply that's when you could get away with using 1708 solo. I would never do this with an under the waterline repair though ;) ..

Good luck and show up some pics :)

YD.

ondarvr

Supreme Mariner

CSM is a waste of money when using epoxy, but not when using polyester.

jigngrub

Fleet Admiral