1997 Sea Ray 175

Marc Peternell

Petty Officer 3rd Class
Hi Everyone,

Welcome to my project page.

I've purchased a gutted out 1997 Sea Ray 175 and intent on restoring it. I have a 1987, 19', Glasstream that I will be using as a 'donor' boat.

In this thread, hopefully you will see me:

1. Build an engine hoist out of wood
2. Transfer a 1987 transom assembly into a 1997 boat
3. Transfer a 1987 Mercruiser 3.0 liter engine into a 1997 boat
4. Transfer steering, tilt/trim motor, and other misc assessories from the 1987 boat to the 1997 boat.
5. Build an interior for the project boat (this won't be pretty, I'm no professional upholster)
6. Ramble about my project
7. Bleed, bruise, work hard, sweat, laugh, and hopefully not cry.

I hope you all join me in my project.

-Marc Peternell

Marc Peternell

Petty Officer 3rd Class
Re: 1997 Sea Ray 175

For starters. I've had my 1987 Glasstream for years. It has been a wonderful boat and the 3.0 liter has been very reliable. It has been to lakes all around Florida, its been to Georgia, has been to Key West, and pretty much everywhere around Tampa Bay. About 7 years ago, I replaced the original, 1987, 3.0 liter engine with a used 1989 3.0 liter engine. The 1987 engine had a cracked block, blown head gasket, cracked head, and burnt valve... And, it was still running! (but, you know something is wrong when you get passed by a riverboat type dinner cruise boat that is powered by a paddle wheel!) So, I really like the 3.0 liter motor. I did the swap myself, so I should be able to do the swap this time around too.

I purchased the 1997 Sea Ray for very cheap, so I figured for a little bit of money and a lot of my time, I can upgrade from a 1987 to a 1997 boat. I like the design of the 1997 better because it has the rounded windshield and built in swim platform.

Before proceeding with this project, I thoroughly checked out the 3.0. It has great compression, a new starter (thank you DB electrical), and a new fuel pump.

fat fanny